LD10 ring in the hotspot normal?

aau007

Enlightened
Just got my first Fenix and is the LD10 R4 for about 2 weeks. I start to notice that that is a ring around the hotspot. Not terrible but since I started noticing it, it seems to be more and more obvious.

This is taken at 1/500
IMG_1095.JPG

This one at 1/250

IMG_1096.JPG

Both are shot at about 5.5'.

I know it is not very obvious but if you look at them closely, you can see the center of the hot spot is darker than the outer part. It is more obvious looking at the real thing than the photo.

This is my first Fenix and I have no experience of it before and want some opinion if this is normal. I saw some reviews on LD20 and LD10 on this site and the hotspots on those photos seems perfectly even light in the hotspot.

subwoofer

Flashlight Enthusiast
I have just got a LD10 R4. So far very impressed with its brightness (the turbo is brighter than my Quark AA regular running on a 14500), but the smoothness of the beam didn't look as good as expected.

I'll have a look tonight to see if I can spot any irregularities in the beam and report back soon.

GunnarGG

Enlightened
There are a lot of guys here on CPF that knows about this much better than I do but I think it's pretty common with the XP-G emitter.
I recieved my LD25 today and it has a similar hotspot. It will give a little bit less throw I guess but in allround use I don't think it will affect the lights performance very much. There is nothing wrong with your light.
Enjoy it! :)

tandem

Enlightened
I don't believe you'll find a simple "swap" solution for changing reflectors short of buying a different light.

See post 70 in the review thread for the LD10/LD20 for an explanation of why Fenix has chosen a smooth reflector and they don't apparently plan on providing orange peel reflectors in these lights going forward.

I use my LD10 for a wide variety of purposes. I can't say that I've ever thought about the doughnut appearance while actually using the light.