Newbie here...and a Tikka

unclearty

Enlightened
My wife and I recently moved out to the "sticks". I have always liked flashlights, but didn't know anything about the better ones. I found this site about 2 weeks ago, and consequently, decided that I neede an Petzl Tikka. Now..when we moved in, neighbors had warned us that we frequently lose power...but usually for only a few hours. Believe it or not...the night I brought home my Tikka..on sale at REI..I had gone down to my workbench to play with some new LEDs..just as I was about to plug in my soldering iron....poof..lights went out. I grabbed a flashlight from my workbench..actually a 3 led on a 9volt that I had put together the night before...cracked open the awful plastic package , and pulled out my new Tikka. Installed the batteries..viola!! What an amazing little light!! Put it on my head and walked upstairs..going through my incredibly cluttered basement, from out recent move, it was just like caving...sort of. When I got upstairs, my wife had already found my MM 2AA and was shocked to see me with a light on my head. She tore it off my head and put it on. She was one happy camper when she got to sit on the couch reading her 2 new magazines with the headlamp. She told me that we're gonna need another one of these..if I ever wanna be able to read in the dark...sigh.
I've since purchased the Brinkman 2AA single LED..very cool inexpensive light. I have a huge backyard that aims towards a state forest, so I sit on my deck and aim different lights out at the trees...where we are gets pretty dark at night.
Thanks for this site...just what I need ..another expensive hobby!!
P.S....I'm ordering a CMG Ultra and a Streamlight TT1L today from Meridian. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/blush.gif

pedalinbob

Flashlight Enthusiast
welcome to CPF!

i started with about 5 lights in my collection...i now have 32!

hide your wallet...fast!

Bob

unclearty

Enlightened