Rifle Light - G2

glock19ftw

Newly Enlightened
I have a 5 year old G2 incand and I am thinking about putting it in a Vtac or VLTOR mount for my AR. Which Malkoff drop in would you guys recommend? I use the rifle for my job (police officer in a big city). Typically, when we deploy our rifles they are used in 25-75 yard situations. We rarely use rifles to clear buildings. My main concern is for the drop-in to have some decent throw. In addition, do I need to change out anything else on the flashlight due to recoil? Thanks, I am new to CPF so bear with me.

angelofwar

Flashlight Enthusiast
First Off, :welcome: Glock! Just grab a Malkoff M60 and a metal bezel (Z44) for your G2 off the Market Place. The High-Out put Malkoffs are preffered to be ran in all metal bodies, but if all you have is a nitrolon Body/metal bezel it should be fine for short time periods (15-30 minutes). But, then again, you can get a 6P body for about the same cost of the metal bezel. The Malkoff's should hold up to .223/5.56mm recoil just fine. It's when you get into the boom-sticks you really got to start worrying about recoil.

Hope this helps!

glock19ftw

Newly Enlightened
Thanks for the quick reply...and say I just ran the malkoff dropin in a g2 nitrolon without changing to a metal bezel.....what would happen?

jellydonut

Enlightened
If you leave it on it would overheat - however, it's a weapon light, not a handheld, so it's not like you would be using it continuously. Also, I am unfamiliar with the Surefires, but the G2 has a momentary tail switch, doesn't it? That way there's a lesser likelihood of accidentally leaving it on.

http://www.oveready.com/led-light-engines/malkoff-m60-single-level-drop-in-3-8-9-0v-/prod_55.html