spot + downward angle spill for EMS

jamesleifer

Newly Enlightened
Hello,

My first post on CPF...

I'm a volunteer EMT (emergency medical technician) looking to replace my ageing Petzl Tikka XP.

Ideally I would like a single headlamp that is good at two, perhaps contradictory, functions:

1. Spot with good throw for searching through dim building complexes to find the right number and entrance.

2. Low intensity spill with the ability to sharply angle the light about 60 degrees downwards so that I can work on a patient without blinding my partners.

My budget is about $80. I prefer AA batteries.

Would be grateful for any suggestions!

James

readyme

Newly Enlightened
James
Take a look at Princeton Tec. I personally have the Corona and it like a huge wall of light, though it does not throw so well. But for my purposes it works perfectly. The Apex seems like it is exactly what you are looking for.

tedh

Newly Enlightened
Fenix HL20? The spot (with the diffuser flipped up) is pretty good, and the diffuser down gives a decent flood. I think you may have to consider a light with a diffuser to get both of the functionalities you want. Or maybe one of the Petzl Tikkas? There are a few variants, some with diffusers that can be put in front of the lens. One downside with the HL20 - you may not be able to angle it down as sharply as you like.

Ted

jamesleifer

Newly Enlightened
Thank you both for the replies!

readyme: I had a look at the Princeton Tec page. The Apex looks like a nice light. I would prefer a single unit though rather than the two-piece design: my pockets are already full of stuff and I'd prefer not to have a piece that could snag as I pull it out. Maybe this concern isn't justified... Their EOS-II looks good too. Do all of the Princeton Tecs have downward rotating heads? If so, is the action smooth or ratcheted?

tedh: Thanks, will look at the Fenix. I do need a good rotating head though.

Appreciatively,
James

readyme

Newly Enlightened