Bike mounted TK45

Robinda

Newly Enlightened
Hi I am looking to replace my Hope Vision 1 which I use off road at night with a more powerful light. I currently run a Fenix LD20 as a helmet light and I am most impressed with that and an LED flashlight seems like a cost effective solution bearing in mind I have plenty of NiMH AA cells at my disposal.

Does anyone have any experience of running a Fenix TK45 on their bars with something like a Lockblock mounting or are there any other suggestions in the £125 or less price range (I live in the UK)

Thanks for your help and be gentle I am a newbie.

qazx

Newly Enlightened
theres an identical thread to this already somewhere and as far as i can remember no-one had a satisfactory way to mount the tk45, wobble is also a big problem. i have a similar sized light to the tk45 and the lock block wont work as the strap even on the c cell version lockblock wont go round it and if it could itll wobble everywhere, ive tried it.

the only useable mount ive found for 4cm diameter lights is the plastic fenix one (af02), take out the screws it comes with and use 5mm diameter by 7 cm long screws with wing nuts to tighten down the plastic bracket. even with his set up theres still some small amount of wobble and i gave up attempting to use it.

to be honest its not even worth considering the tk45, i read it rattles, the 8 cells will have to be matched, its heavy and other much smaller 18650 lights match its output.
i use the olight m30 which is light, not too big and wont wobble in the af02, the wide spill is good for seeing the road. if your looking for cheap and quite small i read good things about the aurora sh40 and sh44.
either way i think youll have to bite the bullet and go with a lithium 18650 light if you want decent brightness without it being massive and unmountable.

Last edited:

B0wz3r

Flashlight Enthusiast
If you really want to go with a big light on your handlebars like that, consider the TK30.