Using the Quark Tactical AA^2 as a lantern

jturn00

Newly Enlightened
I'm a Noob and just ordered a Quark Tactical to do light painting for photography. (I needed a good light in a compact form factor with button swtich with good throw to reach as far as I can without using lithium batteries. I hope I made a good choice.)

I would like to use the light as a lantern should I also need to when I travel. Are there any adapaters like the Fenix diffuser or Solarforce lantern adapters for the quark? (Would any of those fit on the Quark Tactical?)

Thanks!

P.S. Also as a noob, is the quark p60 compatible? I saw the sticky on p60 dropins but wasn't sure if the quark I purchased falls in that category.

AnAppleSnail

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm a Noob and just ordered a Quark Tactical to do light painting for photography. (I needed a good light in a compact form factor with button swtich with good throw to reach as far as I can without using lithium batteries. I hope I made a good choice.)

I would like to use the light as a lantern should I also need to when I travel. Are there any adapaters like the Fenix diffuser or Solarforce lantern adapters for the quark? (Would any of those fit on the Quark Tactical?)

Thanks!

P.S. Also as a noob, is the quark p60 compatible? I saw the sticky on p60 dropins but wasn't sure if the quark I purchased falls in that category.
The Quark is not P60-compatible. They lego among themselves a lot, but not 100%. There isn't a ready-made 'lantern' type diffuser, although the bezel of the Quark AA head is the right size as the Fenix diffuser.

Hang the light with a good diffuser and it works well enough. I've done a lot of decent lightpainting with my Quark R2 Neutral.

jturn00

Newly Enlightened
Thanks. So if I can find the Fenix I will order it. Does the Quark Mini 123 also take the fenix diffuser? Or what other diffusers out there might work?