Fenix TK 12 r5 artifact in lens

joehaya

Newly Enlightened
Dear All,

This my first post so pardon me if the jargon I use is not well received.:twothumbs.
anyway been lurking in this forum for a while and been buying quite a few flashlights, been curious abt chinese flashlights and having a local dealer in Town ( Sinagpore) , I purchased a Fenix TK 12 R5 around half a year ago for work. ( I also bought a PD20 Q5 together as it seem smaller and more EDCable):thumbsup: Im a marine vessel Surveyor, so its not a walk in the park with my lights. And anyone in the aft ballast tank of a large vessel will know that when your lights fail, You are in trouble. You virtually see nought.

I clean, grease and visually inspect my equipment after every use, My back up light is a Petzel XP helmet mounted( Cave proof= Marine proof :thumbsup:).

Of recent, my Tk12 began to show signs of a "misty" kinda artifact inside the lens. Its looks like it "steamed-Up" from within.I have since sent it back to the dealer, now it has been 5 weeks. Multiple attempts to email Fenix China have went unreplied. :poke:

Hmmm.... I am really on the fence now. Is this what i should expect from Fenix? I am aware of atomspheric temperture differences might cause a vaccum to induce this but it was subjected to none :shrug:

PS. the fenix cust service replied me the first time with the im so sorry to hear of what happened BS. No reply further..:sigh:
joeyhaya

Cheers,

Joseph

Last edited:

joehaya

Newly Enlightened
Hi All,

I am glad to finally recover my flashlight today from the local Fenix dealer aft nearly two months of waiting. Well nothing is perfect in the world and I have to accept it. i let the pictures speak for themselves.

joeyhaya

joeyhaya

These are the before sending to Fenix Pics.

joeyhaya

joeyhaya

And these are the ones today aft i got her back. The tint of the LED looks diff due to the exposure.. not because of the colour.