Newb police officer

revenuer

Newly Enlightened
Hello,
I'm revenuer, greetings from the Republic of Texas. The flashlight bug has bitten and i'm here to read and get a bit more educated. Couldn't find the "hello" thread, so i used this one.

I'm not here to advertise, i'm here cause i'm a peace officer and i've grown quite interested in flashlights and there effect on crowd control at night (when my local bars let out).

Have three flashlights, a led stinger, an ultrafire (surefire knockoff i believe) and a cheap no name led light.

A little explanation....my shift consists of myself and another officer (small town). I have a ginormous amount of bars vs the number of officers on the street. I noticed that my stinger when in strobe, helped clear folks out a bit quicker, thus lowering the chance of fights. Then i found the ultra-fire and it is even more intense than the stinger. I realize that my ulta-fire may be a cheapy, but it works.

Now i want more a intense light/strobe for work and for the simple reason, flashlights are now like guns....i need more!

thanks, glad to be here,
revenuer

sfca

Enlightened
I'd say for 1-handed activation of strobe the Eagletac T20C2 Mark II is great!

For 2-handed activation 4sevens Maelstrom G5.

1st one is a thrower - but you can switch out the OEM drop-in module (XP-G LED) for one (XR-E LED) that retains the throw.
2nd one is a thrower.

There ya go: T20C2 Mark II review
Maelstrom review

T20C2 Mark II XP-G beamshot
T20C2 Mark II XR-E beamshot (comparison with Mark I)
Maelstrom G5 beamshot

In all fairness you won't go wrong with either. Don't stress too much about getting the "perfect" one.

revenuer

Newly Enlightened
Already by eyeing that EagleTac. Looks like it would be blinding (kinda what i'm looking for). Without using tech terms, this thing is extremely bright? I guess from reading here, you measure with lumens?

thanks for any help,
revenuer

Brigadier

Enlightened