Lumens?

Syrlinger

Newly Enlightened
The blue houses, Kalix, Norrbotten, Norrland, Swed
I'm new to flashlights and i was wondering why a $100 Tiablo ACE has 700 lumen while a high end $150+ surefire like the E2D LED only has 200 Lumen?
Is the price difference in the metal body?
Should i be looking at lumens as a measure of power at all? I'm so confused.

nick-nack

Newly Enlightened
You should never buy purely off of lumen ratings.
There are many more aspects to what makes a quality light.
One of the main reasons Surefires are generally more costly is because they are built in America - and they are extremely durable.

While lumens is a decent measure of brightness, the accuracy of those readings may vary. The LED bulb's output may be 100lumens but the light that eventually comes out of the light may be less or more.

For me personally, I have found the Surefire lights to have the most accurate readings.

But in the end if you are not sure, post what you aim to use the light for and what your price range is. And I'm sure you will get plenty of good choices.

jellydonut

Enlightened
Lumens is the total amount of light emitted. It's not the only metric though.

When you go to look for a car to buy, do you look solely at one single performance rating number and ignore everything else?

LEDninja

Flashlight Enthusiast
:welcome:

The Tiablo ACE uses an MC-E LED which has 4*EZ1000 dies in it.
The Surefire uses a XR-E LED which has 1*EZ1000 die in it.
As a result the Tiablo burns through batteries 4 times as fast.
If you are a soldier climbing the mountains of Afghanistan, you will not appreciate having to carry 4 times the number of batteries.
Surefire's single biggest customer is the US military. They did experiment with the SSC-P7 (equivalent to the MC-E) but decided not to go into production in the smaller torches with the more powerful LEDs