Fenix Flashlight problems

Artful1

Newly Enlightened
:confused:New to the site. Please forgive the new thread. May have already been covered elsewhere. Real quick... I'm a very busy Home Inspector...use a flashlight on and off 8-12 hours a day five days a week. I use them as intended but they do get a TON of use during the day. I've been through Streamlight flashlights... The Ultra Stinger and Poly Stingers. After a while realized rechargables loose their ability to recharge very well...and over time those lights wound up in the drawer at home. Then I searched the net. Seems like everybody loves these FENIX flashlights. Never found a negative comment anywhere. Made me wonder if they pay people to sit around writing fake posts.
...so I went with the PD30...I got it and used it for about three weeks. Great..loved it...started to think this amazing light was the real deal. I order another one same model... I loved the first one so much I wanted a back up. ... few more weeks... I purchase one for a maintenance manager friend that works with Wegman's stores. (Christmas gift)

... All of a sudden during a home inspection I realize my light is stuck in the low lumen mode:shakehead...and will not switch out. I change batteries (SUREFIRE) ... no difference. I toss it...and grab the back up... about a week goes by... and bam... same thing:ironic:. Stuck on low lumen...no high, medium, SOS or strobe. I clean them as directed in instructions...no change.

THEN... I get a call from my friend...stating the light is stuck on the low setting.:thumbsdow

Any ideas out there folks? Sounds like a design flaw. I can't imagine 3 with the same exact defect being a random problem. My gut is telling me I've purchased a cheap CHINA made light that works well...long enough for the reviewers to rave about them. None of the reviews seem to be down the road. I always see people reviewing right out of the box.

... I'm no tougher on my lights than any other inspector in the field.