What's equal to an Electrolumens EDC-MCE, but 2-3 modes?

qqqqqqqman

Newly Enlightened
I've done a lot of reading/researching, but am growing weary and maybe confused by all of the options, since I am a newb. Just when I think I've found something, either delving into the final specs or reviews reveals "problems" with the light, or "inconsistencies" in reviews, or battery issues, or size issues.

Anyway, I really like the beamshots and reviews of the Electrolumens EDC-MCE : http://www.cpfmarketplace.com/mp/showthread.php?t=236180
-- really bright (apparently at 700-900 emitter lumens and ~500 OTF lumens)
-- more floody than throw
-- 1x18650 battery
-- $129 price
-- nice cosmetics doesn't hurt

BUT, it only has one mode....HIGH. I would like to be able to switch to a lower mode for power conservation in case of battery issues or if cars or people are around.

What lights compare, but have 2-3 modes of brightness? :confused:

P.S. I thought the SST-50 lights would be the answer, but I guess those are for more throw?

P.S.II...I want a complete flashlight, not drop-ins and customs....as I don't know what I'm doing LOL

Last edited:

Henk_Lu

Flashlight Enthusiast
You won't find something equal among "normal" flashlights...

In fact, the EDC-MCE is a Custom, what makes it special is the direct drive, the reason it is so bright. The emitter is glued directly on copper to get rid of teh heat and it gets as much power from the 18650 cell as possible. Stock flashlights are normally regulated and anout no driver delivers more than 2,5A (rated 2,8A though), with a fresh cell I got close to 4A with my DMM, which surely isn't exact above 2A. All my 2,8A drivers show a draw of about 2,2A max on a fresh cell (4,2V).