2010 - Annual EDC light purchase suggestions

krevo

Newly Enlightened
Edit: List updated

Hey guys, another year passed. I'm back again asking for opinions on the latest EDC light.

I've been doing this for 4 years now, primarily because I have too much stuff going on to be able to visit regularly. :sigh: Anyways...

My current lineup:

- Surefire 6PN (had this one for 8 years now)
- Fenix P2D (2007)
- EagleTac P10C2 (2008)
- Maratac AAA and AA (2009)

Here is the list of lights I've been looking at, but I'd also love some suggestions. I'd prefer to stay with single AA.

- Fenix LD15
- Nitecore D11
- Nitecore EZ AA
- Quark Mini AA (regular or Ti)

As you can tell, I'm trying to stay as compact and pocketable as possible. Single cell AA. Nice, bright output, with decent interface. Let me know your thoughts, gents. You haven't steered me wrong before.

Last edited:

nutcracker

Newly Enlightened
What about getting a Lumapower Incendio V3+ (CR123) with little new improvements?
Or the Preon Revo (AAA)?

krevo

Newly Enlightened
What about getting a Lumapower Incendio V3+ (CR123) with little new improvements?
Or the Preon Revo (AAA)?

I had the incendio on my list, but I wouldn't consider it a pocket carry light, and the CR123A thing kinda takes it off my list. I don't carry spare cells with me, and I need something I could swing into a gas station and buy. Just a more well rounded EDC for the guy who packs light.

Cataract

Flashlight Enthusiast
I love my LD15. I EDC it every day for work. Some people don't like the fact that it starts on high, but you won't use low when there are lights around.

Why AA only and not lithiums? more compact and slightly more runtime/brightness. This would add the Fenix PD20 and Quark 123 to you list and these are very pocketable and very nice lights, plus with the Quark 123, you get more modes. If not, the Quark AA is also a very nice light to pocket.

Worldfusion

Newly Enlightened