Surefire 6P LED variations?

CAMVDCS

Newly Enlightened
Hello, I'm a newbie so forgive me if this has been discussed. I have this addition to knives & flashlights. I've been thinking about finally getting a Surefire even though I hate buying those special lithium batteries. I'm looking at the model 6P LED but in my research I find that there are some being offered that is rated 80 lumens and others 120 lumens. I go to the Surefire website and they list the 6P as having 120 lumens. Are the 80 lumens model and older model? :thinking:

Solscud007

Flashlight Enthusiast
Depends. Originally the 6PL came with a P60L. a surefire made dropin that replaces the incandescent P60 lamp. The P60L puts out 80 lumens vs the 60 lumens from the P60 incan bulb.

Now they have the KX4 head which has a newer led built in. Those put out 120 lumens.

Actually you might want to look into the new surefire 6PX or G2X. they put out 200 lumens. if you splurge the extra $10. you can get the dual stage versions.

Lithium CR123 batteries are not that bad. SF sells them for about $1.75 or you can get US made ones online for $1.25 each.

You might want to look into Rechargeable CR123 batteries. most LEDs can handle two RCR123.

CAMVDCS

Newly Enlightened
Solscud007, thanks for your input. I saw a 6P LED at Fry's today and the package says that it has max 80 lumens. I saw a picture of the 6PX and it looks like it would be comfortable to handle. It also has a max 200 lumens and I kind of like the 2 modes. My only complaint is that it has only a 2 hour runtime at max. It has a 45 hour runtime at 15 lumens. I don't know how bright 15 lumens is but I guess I'll have to find out. If 15 lumens is as bright as a normal flashlight maybe I go with the 6PX. If not, I'll go with the 6P. Thanks.

calipsoii

Flashlight Enthusiast