needing advice

millertime

Newly Enlightened
Hi all I'm new to the fourm here and need advice. I'm looking at buying a Streamlight PT 1AA flashlight. I was wondering if there was a better light in this price range. The reason I'm concidering the Streamlight pt is the rep of the company and the fact that it has a clip (I need to clip it to my hat at work). I currently carry an energizer 1watt 1AA. thanks in advance on any input.

Belstaff1464

Enlightened
It might help if you tell us the price range. There are a lot of AA lights and most (if not all) come with clips.

:welcome:

Belstaff1464

Enlightened
I'm partial to the Zebralight headlamps . They make several that use AA depending on the beam shape you want (flood/throw). They are very versatile and can be handheld like an ordinary flashlight, or used as a directional headlamp, or clipped to a shirt pocket/collar. Check out how people use them here. They do have a question mark over their reliability, though.

millertime

Newly Enlightened
Thanks for the input Belstaff. I've searching the forum and I think I might be leaning tward the trust model 1. just not sure how it would work with the clip flipped around. :thinking:

Belstaff1464

Enlightened
It looks like it's suitable with a wide range of battery chemistries, which is good. 350 lumens is not OTF, but it should still be plenty bright ( >200 lumens). I hope it meets your needs.

millertime

Newly Enlightened
Thanks again belstaff. I was wondering if you use a lithium battery as opposed to a alk do you get more lumens? thanks again.:thinking:

TomH

Newly Enlightened
I EDC the PT 1AA and absolutely love it. There are brighter, higher runtime lights in this price range, but not a one of them comes with anywhere near as good of a warranty as the Streamlight. It has served me well so far and I would recommend it wholeheartedly.