OMG love this stuff!!

caall99

Newly Enlightened
First off... let me say hello! My name is Chris and I am about 2 days into my new hobby, namely LED lights. I am a mechanical engineer that manages to get infatuated with hobbies quite rapidly so excuse the enthusiasm!

Yesterday ago I found myself browsing the isles at Target and stumbled across the flashlight isle. They had a couple 1 watt to 140 lumen LED flash lights laying around. I didn't expect much out of them and pointed one directly into my face prior to hitting the power button. Suffice to say, I was seeing stars for the rest of the day. I was HOOKED!

Later that night, being an avid ebay shopper and all, I started browsing for LED flashlights for my upcoming birthday. I found some (supposedly) 1 watt LED flashlights being sold for $1.50-3.00 shipped! "OMG soooo cheap" I thought, and almost hit "Buy It Now" on all of them!

I then looked a little deeper into LEDs and found youtube video clips of SST-90 Emitters in hand held flash lights and was BLOWN away to say the least! 2200 lumens??? I can't even imagine how bright that is... eitherway... I WANT IT. Problem is, I am not ready to fork out $450 on an Olight flashlight when I have only been in this hobby 1 whole day..

My questions are:

1. Is there a cheap Ebay LED flashlight I can purchase now, enjoy for a week or so, and then upgrade the emitter/driver (and w/e else you need, lol i am clueless) to a SST-90 emitter and shoot 1000-2000 lumens from it? I realize there are heat issues, and battery longevity issues... but has anyone tried this?

2. How legitimate are the wattage claims on Ebay LED flashlights?

3. I have heard some mention of brass plugs... are these heatsinks that come with emitters? Is the star configuration pretty standard and swappable into any housing? How do these things go together, both physically and electrically? Anyone point me towards a FAQ?