E1B LED or HDS EDC Tactical?

AmicusCuriae

Newly Enlightened
I am a law enforcement officer who recently purchased a Surefire E2DL for duty use and am very pleased with the purchase. I am now looking for a moderately priced 1x123A back-up light to compliment my E2DL and would like your advice and opinions. I am debating between a Surefire E1B backup LED and a HDS EDC Tactical 120 lumen model both of which I can get for roughly the same price. Given the choice, would you choose the Surefire or the 120 lumen HDS? Anything else I should consider that is very robust and reliable in the same price range?

Thanks,

AmicusCuriae

Brasso

Flashlight Enthusiast
The E1b is a small spotlight. The HDS has a lot more flood, although it does still have a hotspot.. I guess it depends on which you need more. Spot or flood. For a light that will be used in a tactical situation, I'd go for something more along the lines of an L1 or wait for the LX1. Otherwise, the HDS is a lot more versatile.

Last edited:

d337944

Enlightened
If you want ultimate reliability, the E1B is the better choice. No complex circuitry to go wrong - just a simple high / low tailcap switch.

Simple design, brilliant beam, long throw.

ericb445

Newly Enlightened
Buy both, you can't go wrong. I have a E1B and Ra 170E both great lights. The surefire is a bit smaller and more of a spot light. The Ra is just a great all around light, you can set it up however you want, do to your needs. I think it will out throw the E1B.

BBL

Enlightened
If you want ultimate reliability, the E1B is the better choice. No complex circuitry to go wrong - just a simple high / low tailcap switch.

Anyone had the electronics of a HDS fail? I own one surefire Z57 switch which failed three times, counting the replacements.

mossyoak

Flashlight Enthusiast
The Southland with a RedBull in one hand and iPhon