LIGHT BULB QUESTION

BT1324

Newly Enlightened
i recently blew out a light bulb because of over voltage. What i want to know is how your suppose to tell how many volts a light bulb is capable of if theres no indicactions?
And if it says something like 2.5 volts...how many volts of eletric can i put in it without blowing it out in a few minutes? Thx, if i can get an answer id really appreciate it.

stephenanderson2

Newly Enlightened
I usually go 1.3 times the rated voltage, but i'm no expert!
I haven't noticed a shorter runtime on that principal yet, and have been doing that for years. Also it is much brighter /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cool.gif Tried 1.6 once, and it blew in about a half an hour.

PlayboyJoeShmoe

Flashaholic
Even though Alkalines are nominally at 1.5v they are rated as if 1.2v, hence a 4cell bulb is 4.8v, 3 cell 3.6v etc.

In my experience, a 2.4v .75a bulb doesn't live very long on 3 cells. a 3.6v on 4 cells has a better life, and any higher number like 5cell on 6 or 6cell on 7 seem to live just fine.

Right now I have a 5 cell M*g bulb being driven by 10.5 volts nominal. It is QUITE BRIGHT.. and has lived at least 20 minutes so far...

Doug Owen

Flashlight Enthusiast
The Unknown Bulb problem......

Yes, I suggest there is (although it's not that simple to do) and more interesting, at least to me, is I think you can do it without having to see (or measure the light from) the bulb itself.

We can easily measure the resistance cold. We can also drive it with a known current and measure the voltage drop and thus calculate the resistance at that time. We know that tungsten has a known positive temperature coefficient (that is it's resistance goes up with temperature, and how much it does per degree) and we know how hot we want to run it........