Tigerlight or Light Cannon?

123a

Newly Enlightened
I am new to the high performance flashlight arena. And I am looking for more experienced opinions. My question is which light is better for deeply wooded areas when hiking or camping, the Light Cannon or the Tiger Light? I have an M3 and I just ordered an M6 today which I can't wait to get. The M6 will eat up money so I am looking for either a rechargeable or a light like the LC that sips batts when carring a larger light permits. I have read the LC is shock sensitive, how bad is it. And the TL has a longer throwing beam and is a recharge so which one is better?

Jeff

BuddTX

Flashlight Enthusiast
Here are some thoughts. Only you can answer them.

How bright of a light do you need? Do you really need a light cannon for camping? Yes it would be fun to have, but I would think that a light more like the Princeton Tec Surge would be a better choice.

When I go hiking with my dog, in the dirt trails behind my house, my two favorite lights (not both at the same time) are my LGI from Mr. Bulk, and the Streamlight 3c, 10 LED light. I find that these lights give me a very wide, very intensely white light, very even, yet does not seem to hurt my night vision. I cary a Legend LX with a Surefire p61 HOlA in the other hand, for when I need a "burst of daylight". I actually prefer this type of illumination to brighter lights, as I can still see in the dark.

Rechargables for hiking/camping?

I would think that batteries would be better, s you might not always have a power source to recharge them, or you might run out of power before your hike is done. It is easier and less expensive to throw an extra set of batteries in your pocket or back pack, as opposed to an extra, expensive custom rechargeable battery.

Lights that I would bring with me for camping would be my LGI mod from Mr. Bulk, Streamlight 3c, 10 LED, my Princeton Tec Surge, a florscent Lantern, and lots of extra Rayovac batteries!

rlhess

Enlightened