Any SolidWorks users?

yclo

Flashaholic*
I have to use it for my course work and felt like drawing a soft drink can just for fun, however I'm stuck on the ring tab on the top. I just don't know how to model it, can someone give me some pointers?

fb2894fd.jpg

fb2894f7.jpg

fb2894f2.jpg

-YC

Charles Bradshaw

Flashlight Enthusiast
2 approaches: first draw it as integral with the can (most obvious solution). Second option is to draw it separately and composite it (attach it to correct point on can). Not sure if your software can do that. By attaching it, it will move with the can, yet be a separate object.

This is 3D CGI method. Most think 3D CGI is only animation. It isn't, as CGI is Computer Generated Imagery (for the complete novices reading this).

Rothrandir

Flashaholic
awesome drawing!

any chance you could make me a new can of flashahol for my avatar? /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif

LukeK

Enlightened
I'm sorry yclo -- I'm not familiar with Solidworks. The only advice I can tell you without knowing how the program works is to see if it supports boolean operations. If it does then modeling/drawing the tab would be a breeze. I modeled a soft drink can not too long ago, here is a clip to show you the tab:

fb267b6f.jpg

yclo

Flashaholic*
Re: Any SolidWorks users? (3D CAD question)

Charles - Thanks, it is possible to draw seperate objects and assemble them together with SolidWorks. Afterall, it is an Engineering CAD software.

Roth - Maybe you should ask Luke instead..

Luke - No need to be sorry /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif, I'm not sure what you mean by boolean operations? I'm more stuck on how I should model the underside of the tab how the aluminium is curled.

ewick - Second that!

-YC

ewick

Enlightened

yclo,