Flashlight noob looking for advice on buying a new light

Z

z_Iram

Good morning,

I'm a flashlight noob looking for a new light for daily carry in a pocket. The light needs to be usable with a handgun. I'd really appreciate input from some flashlight experts.

Currently I have a Icon Rogue, 50 lumen version. My only complaints about it is that the switch tends to get turned on in my pocket (thus running the battery down), and that it doesn't work for a cigar-type hold when shooting a handgun.

After googling, it seems like the SureFire A2Z would be idea, but it's about twice what I'm willing to spend. The Surefire G2Z looks decent but doesn't have a low-light mode. The Fenix TK12 has a nice set of modes (it could be left at 90 lumens for carry, with the option to switch down to 9 lumens for mundane tasks). The Surefire G2X Pro with a Combat Ring added also looks good, but it seems like that would have the same problem as my Icon flashlight with the light getting turned on in my pocket.

Thanks guys.

1) How would you prefer to purchase the light?

I plan to buy online, preferably through amazon.com or midwayusa.com.

2) Budget: An easy question, but you may change your mind after answering the rest! :)

Around $100, with some wiggle room.

3) Format:

I want a handheld flashlight.

4) Flashlight-specific format/size:

Every day carry medium. Around 5 or so.

5) Emitter/Light source:

LED

6) Manufacturer:

I want to buy a light from a traditional mass producing manufacturer that is ready to go out of the box.

7) What battery type do you want to use?

Either AA or CR123 batteries prefered.

8) How much genuine out the front (OTF) light do you want/need? Sometimes you can have too much light (trying to read up close up with a 100 lumen light is impossible).