How do you stay fit?

guncollector

Enlightened
Just curious. Seems we have alot of "active" and "outdoorsy" folks here at CPF, so it would seem natural that many also try and stay fit.

Personally, I run 3-4 times/week, whatever it takes to get in about 15 miles/week. Occasionally, I'll cross-train with a bike ride or a hike. With a hectic work/travel/family schedule, beyond that, I don't have much time.

How about the rest of you guys and gals?

leddite

Enlightened
for me, it's not time, so much as motivation...

i've been doing kickboxing for 5 yrs now, more than that "tai-bo" thing, but less than full on combat. we're in the middle somewhere. full impact kicking and punching on bags, and sparring with teacher only. LOTS of calithentics; situps and pushups are our air. lots of various cross training. it can motivate me a lot.

mtn biking, and slalom skateboarding/snowboarding as i can. probably should do more. walking/hiking too.

i find that correct diet maintains my weight, and exercise my muscles,energy and mood more.

guncollector

Enlightened
[ QUOTE ]
leddite said:
i find that correct diet maintains my weight, and exercise my muscles,energy and mood more.

[/ QUOTE ]
Please elaborate. I'm quite interested in your methodology.

I've been "generally" following Dr. Barry Sear's Zone diet, to pretty good effect. Like many, I "cheat" far too often on the carbs (fries, chips, breads...).

Xrunner

Flashlight Enthusiast
I try to run around 30+ miles a week and lift 2 to 3 times. I also mountain bike and partake in other outdoor activities (ultimate frisbee, hiking, juggling, etc.) whenever I have the time. I tend to eat a minimal amount of red meat and lots of pasta/bread/fruit.

-Mike

LukeK

Enlightened