Am I crazy to want a Surefire L1 Red

Shawn L

Newly Enlightened
As the title states.. I know these are discontinued but I really want one. I'm trying to figure out if it will be useful to me. I work as a K9 Handler (Security) at a University where I do a lot of checks of dark rooms at night and sometimes I don't like shining my 6PL/M60 because it destroys my adapted night vision.

Solscud007

Flashlight Enthusiast
As the title states.. I know these are discontinued but I really want one. I'm trying to figure out if it will be useful to me. I work as a K9 Handler (Security) at a University where I do a lot of checks of dark rooms at night and sometimes I don't like shining my 6PL/M60 because it destroys my adapted night vision.

This is an old thread. But to help, I have a L1 Red and it is great. Better than any other red LED light that I have. Kroma red is fine for a nice general purpose light. But has no punch unless I use the full white LED of the kroma.

All the other red LED lights I have are mostly a 5mm or 3mm variant.

The Quark RGB has the MCE die that splits RGB and white per die. While insanely bright, it is all flood.

L1 Red punches thru the darkness. Highly recommended if you can get one for a good deal.

angelofwar

Flashlight Enthusiast
Ditto...glad I was finally able to get one. Never realized HOW useful they really were until owning one. Wish other red lights had throw like this. Plus, it's an even better battery vampire than the white version.

Retinator

Enlightened
The closest I have to a Red L1, is my E1L with the red filter (F05? I think).

The red really cuts down the overall output, but is so much easier on the eyes. Anyone know the stats for the red version?
Red is a great indoors light, never enjoyed them much outdoors.

And did the original L1's have the TIR (older versions assumed)?

ZMZ67

Flashlight Enthusiast
I am usually not interested in SF LED lights as I prefer warmer tints than what they offer but I would like to have a red L1!