LED Battery life question

Z

z_sandmountainslim

Newbie here with a newbie question.

I have a small round keychain LED, it's a Rayovac that I got at Wal-Mart a couple years back. I cannot find this particular model online anywhere so I assume it is discontinued.

The light runs on two 2016 cell batteries but I noticed after I disassembled the light to put new batteries in that it can easily be rigged to run on ONE 2016 battery instead of two. When burning on only one battery the light appears about half the brightness as on both batteries.

My question is would it be a good idea to try and run the flashlight on only one battery rather than the way it is designed to be ran? Would I get double the runtime since the battery is powered lower or would I simply damage the bulb?

Like I said it isn't super bright on just one battery (prob equiv to a Maglite Solitaire) but if I could get forty or fifty hours off two batteries that way instead of ten or twelve ideas it might be worth the dimness.

Please chime in with any advice and its a pleasure to be aboard the forum. Very interesting place :)

Wp

cbutters

Newly Enlightened
Yes, by removing one battery, you are cutting the voltage in half, so your brightness will be diminished by half, if that amount of brightness is sufficient for you. you will get double the battery life by running it at half voltage (one battery), then swapping the battery once over the lifespan of the two batteries.

In (hopefully simpler terms) one battery at 1v will last as long as two batteries together @ 2v

crizyal

Enlightened
If you are ok with the brightness of one battery, use one 2032. It is the same diameter and it is the thickness of two 2016s. Some coin cell light come this way. You will get VERY long runtimes in this configuration. It won't hurt the light one bit.

mdocod

Flashaholic