Newbie considers doing something with a couple XM-Ls

Z

z_Colorblend

One day I felt like building something fun. i decided it would be something that was bright so I started googling for LEDs, I had seen a Led Lenser H7 head torch and thought it was cool as Cool itself and now I want something with even more punch.

The H7 is 170 lumens and the H14 is 210(?) lumens but that is as far as I know the strongest single-led headlamp so I dropped by Kaidomain and ordered some stuff, 2 T6 XM-ls and what seems to be a shameless copy of the H7 http://kaidomain.com/ProductDetails....roductId=10755 . The idea was conceived late one night and not thought through very much, but I intend to tear the lamp apart and try to fit the XML in there and see how much oomph that adds to it if it is possible. I am new to this and I know nothing yet of the effect of the driver or if heat will become a problem for example but I guess it will show.

I was also thinking about getting a ridiculously powerful flashlight, thousands and thousands of lumens. For example 5 XM-ls on a star board and run them on maximum, 3 amps per led. I guess this will leave me with a 50 watt application with everything that comes with that. I suppose any heatsink inside a concealed flashlight would be unsufficient but I was thinking about for example:

-Heatsink being a solid cylinder of copper, quite thick that is perfectly fit inside the flashlight chassi thereby transporting heat to the exterior, making more or less the entire flashlight a heatsink.

-A spacey flashlight assembly with room for a sturdy heatsink and also a processor fan. A normal CPU cooling construction, this will have to be open in order to let air in and out of the construction.

Without knowing any details, what would I need to power a LED application that gobbles up 50 watts on 15 amperes? As in: how many batteries, and which ones?