Build Log: Surefire A2 Aviator replacement LED ring [pic heavy]

calipsoii

Flashlight Enthusiast

Update #1
(2011-03-24): These are now available for sale! Check out my sales thread for more details: http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/showthread.php?311596-FS-Homemade-Surefire-A2-Aviator-LED-rings

Introduction

This is going to be a long post, so how about I start with a little introduction? This is my very first post in Custom/Modified, and indeed, my very first flashlight modification. I'm a sysadmin by trade, which is a fancy way of saying I never took Electrical Engineering and I know almost nothing about the field. The reason I'm telling you this? Some of the things you're about to see will probably have you burying your face in your palm. Heck, some of the later pictures might have you chucking your cookies! Maybe finish eating before you continue reading. Go ahead, I'll wait.

Alright, let's continue.

I have a confession to make: I love my Surefire A2 Aviator. Well, it's more of a love-hate relationship, really. I love everything about the light except... the LED tint. :sick2:

See, I've got an A2-HA-WH and on low, white Nichia's just give me a serious case of the blues. Fact of the matter is, everyone I show the light to says:
Oh neat, so it's got a blue low mode and a white high mode?
:shakehead

Now everyone who owns an A2 is probably aware that there are/were 3 big projects intended to enhance this marvelous little light:

1. FiveMega's Strion Socket
  2. Atomic Chicken's Aviatrix
  3. Koala's Onion Rings