EagleTac P20A2 MKII: Or is there a better AA flashlight for the money?

bobkat

Newly Enlightened
I was looking at the fenix ld20 with the cree R5 or the eagletac p20a2 for a flashlight that uses aa batteries, either the alkalines or my rechargables.
The eagletac is just a few dollars more and seems to put out more lumens at 230ish as opposed to the fenix at 180
Are there better choices out there?

GearedUp

Newly Enlightened
Eagletac makes great lights. I am very happy with my P20C2 MKII, quality light. The P20C2 MKII and P20A2 MKII are similar in that they are both using the same XPG-R5. Stick with the textured (OP) reflector with these lights for the smoothest beam. The P20C2's beam is very useful, with its nice bright spill. It's great for medium range use, and will light up a good distance, but not really known as a long distance thrower. I assume the P20A2's beam is similar.

I cannot comment on the Fenix, i have no experience with it.

If you're looking for a 2xAA light with a tighter hotspot and a further throw, look into the Eagletac P100A2, or the Dereelight Javelin which use the XPE led. Impressive throw for a 2xAA lights.

Good Luck.

tre

Flashlight Enthusiast
It really depends what you want. Do you want more throw or more flood? Is tint a concern? What about modes and run time? size?

bobkat

Newly Enlightened
I want more throw than flood and size is not a problem. I want something as bright as possible with a couple of aa batteries as a power source and good medium to long range distance wise. I was reading somewhere that the eagletac had a fairly good area of flood as well as some throw.

Bfunk3717

Newly Enlightened
I have the P20C2 and LOVE the beam. Very useful at short to medium distances with a decent amount of throw. Of course the C2 puts out a lot more lumens than the A2, so that one probably doesn't throw as well. XP-G lights in general are more floody, so you might want to look for an XR-E light for more throw.

Toaster

Enlightened