'First' real flash light. Help appreciated.

Stig

Newly Enlightened
I've come across this forum several times in the past in search of a good flashlight, and after still not being able to find something I'm happy with, I decided to register.

I'm a hobby photographer, and base most of my work in abandoned buildings and storm water drains, so I am usually in pitch black and have decided my old torch just doesn't cut it any more.

For the past year I have been using a huge Maglight which I found. But it chews through the batteries like nothing else I've used, and doesn't put out much light for all it's hunger.

I've looked at the criteria sticky, and putting below what I'm looking for.

:confused:

I will be buying online.

Budget of around $100 AUD, but that can change depending on what I get suggested.

Flashlight.

Don't really mind the size, the one I have been using is nearly 20"! But smaller would be prefered.

LED prefered, as I will be using it for long periods at a time, and it's just easier in my opinion.

I would consider getting a light that is pieced together, I like customised things, but not if it's going to get expensive quickly.

Rechargeable batteries are a MUST! Sick of throwing out old batteries and want something reliable.

After something that will be able to light a fair distance ahead of me. But as I will usually be using it in tunnels, not something crazy. Around 300+ lumin maybe?

Would be used for everything from looking at gear in my backpack, to shining far ahead down a tunnel (50m).

Long runtime will be needed. As I am often out from 7pm untill 12pm.

Durability is a must, as I don't want it dieing while I'm a 20 minute walk down a tunnel.

Tail or body mounted switch, doesn't really bother me.

I'm guessing 2 light modes, bright and dim, or adjustable would be heaplfull for my situation, open to suggestions though.

Medal torch would be preferred.

Waterproof, as I don't want to accidentally drop it in the drain, and have it die on me.