Blackhawk Gladius Flashlight: Intermittent Issues

David_Parker

Newly Enlightened
I've been carrying around the Blackhawk Gladius flashlight for about 4 years now. That, or a Surefire LED E2D has been my EDC wherever I go.

For the last couple of years, I've started to notice lighting issues in the Gladius. I finally got off my butt and got an R/A from Blackhawk, who (no surprise from what I've read regarding other peoples inquiries), was not able to diagnose or confirm any problem with the flashlight. 1 new manual (surprise...) and 1 new set of batteries (...surprise.)

Customer service was great, but I am not crazy, and the flashlight will sometimes not turn on at all without a gentle tap.

So, in reading some more, I found that the issue could be in the tailcap. My flashlight serial is #33081, and apparently that may have been in the early issue range.

Going to the source, I email Stategos Int, where I received an email stating a new tailcap would be $70.99 + S/H which brings the total to a whopping $80.

Now, I'm all for spending cash to get poop done, but if this is a warranty issue, and everyone else I've read seems to have been shipped a new tailcap for free, why the ***k am I about to spend $80 on a replacement part when I bought it brand new for $300? I mean, I carry a Chris Reeve Umnumzaan as my EDC, but if I can get it for less, I'm going to find that source. I'll only spend the total amount if I must absolutely have to.

I love my E2D. But I really prefer the Gladius. I love the variable output, the strobe, the constant on and off. And, I soon want to send it to get the CREEMator upgrade. But is there anywhere else I might be able to buy a tailcap for much cheaper?

Thanks for reading this and any input you have would be great guys.

Viper715

Enlightened