Big light for a older Flashaholic

thedukeoftank

Newly Enlightened
My Grandfather has always had multiple Maglites ... You know, one for the kitchen, bathroom, garage, saddle shop, workshop, gun shop, each car & one on him. I think I came by my love for flashlights honestly. This year, he is turning 80 ... Still doesn't look a day over 70 and still moves like he is 60 (And as I stated before, can still out shoot me in trap & target). At a recent family gathering, I suggested that we (kids/grandkids) chip in and buy him a new flashlight. Now, in some families, this would be considered a odd suggestion but, flashlights have been a gift that he has always enjoyed and appreciated.

Down to the brass tax.
I am looking for a big light ... Something that is more throw than flood but still puts off usable spill. My initial thoughts are the Olight M3X & the ThruNite Catapult V3 XML but as I have no experience with them, I am still unsure.

Here are the four major things that I am looking for.
700LM+ ANSI -or- OTF
Big Thrower with usable spill (No Aspherics)
TOUGH (holds up well in farming/shooting situations)
Under $170 (Still have to get LiFePo4 rechargeable batteries as well)

From what I have seen in GoingGear's videos, the M3X looks like it puts out more light but then again, those are videos. Any other lights I should be looking at?

Thanks again guys!

Buckley

Newly Enlightened
I would recommend that you take a look at the beamshots here: http://fonarik.com/test/indexen.php?model=81&scene=1&mode=0
By clicking back and forth, you can do a side-by-side comparison of many of the lights you are considering.

I also recommend you take a look at the Fenix TK35. While it has a nice wide spill, it also sports considerable throw. At less than $100 (with CPF discount), it's tough to beat.

Good hunting!

thedukeoftank

Newly Enlightened
I'll take a look at the TK35 thanks!