My first big LED lego, issues, help!

Chrisdm

Enlightened
Hey guys, I'm new to this and trying to research to find as many answers as possible, and CPF has been very helpful. I originally posted this in the batteries etc sub-forum as my issues are likely battery or perception related, but got no love there, so...

I'm building & buying a couple lights to test & use on my search & rescue team (and in the process have become a certified flashaholic)... My most ambitious project is just complete, this Lumens Factory head (SST-90):
http://www.lighthound.com/Lumens-Fac...ly_p_3771.html

.. And I scored an FM Megallenium 3x18650 body mount it. I really wanted to go the 18650/CR123 route because my primary search light, my EDC and headlamp all use those, and in the field it will be VERY ADVANTAGEOUS for me and my team to all have interchangeable batteries.

But the problems are these: Firstoff, I went through 4 sets of 18650s before I found 3 that would make the connection. I had 4 ultrafires, all of which didn't have 3 the exact same height among them, and they wouldn't make the connection to the host because of this. Next I tried my AWs, which are the flat top models and wouldn't make connection because of this.. Finally I ordered 3 Redilast after reading positive reviews. They are all nearly the exact same height and it still takes me a couple tries to get them to make connection to the host. I have talked with another Megalennium owner and he has told me he has a similar experience getting his to light up. I contacted fivemega for help too and he basically just said that yes his 3x18650 hosts can be picky about the batteries...