Surefire 6P versus E2D LED Defender

tomp

Newly Enlightened
Hi - I am fairly new to the fourm and high quality flashlights. I really like the shape and feel of the E2D Defender series lights. However, I continue to read/hear that the 6P is a must-have light. Can someone please offer some opinions as to what would make the 6P better or more desirable than the E2D? Thank you for your assistance.

carrot

Flashaholic
We really like the 6P because of all the upgrade options for it, both from Surefire and aftermarket. From Surefire in recent years there is the KX4 and P60L, but from the aftermarket there ranges all sorts of options from a very inexpensive DX module all the way to the Malkoffs and the Moddoo/Oveready Triple-XPG.

The E2D is no slouch for upgradeability either, taking the KX2 from Surefire, several hotwires from LumensFactory, and the
Kuku427 LED tower module. But the 6P is still far more upgradeable from a much larger system of parts.

I would lean in the direction of picking up an E2DL first, and then a standard 6P (not LED or X) later. The E2DL makes a great pocket light and the (upgraded) 6P will be a great all-around light to compliment the E2DL.

fresh eddie fresh

Enlightened
I love how easy it is to upgrade 6Ps (but I love my E2DL as well!) If you are used to the E2DL, the 6P might feel a little chunky to you... have you thought about a Z2 or a C2? The Z2 tapers down really thin in the middle, but still accepts the same drop ins.

Last edited:

Size15's

Flashaholic
Hi - I am fairly new to the fourm and high quality flashlights. I really like the shape and feel of the E2D Defender series lights. However, I continue to read/hear that the 6P is a must-have light. Can someone please offer some opinions as to what would make the 6P better or more desirable than the E2D? Thank you for your assistance.

Just a quick FYI;