most energy efficient lights in the 1AA and 2AA class?

coachclass

Newly Enlightened
Hi,
I was wondering which lights you would pick for the most energy efficient for the single AA and two AA flashlight? Disregarding interface, which lights give you the most efficiency (lumens vs run time).

Not sure if I should quality lumens vs runtime...because how do you compare 0.2 lumens running for 1200 hours vs. 200 lumens for 2 hours, and every flashlight has different modes. But take a shot at it. :)

As a small divergence...how would you quantify efficiency? Area under the runtime curve?

200 lm * 2 hr=400 lm*hrs
0.2 lm * 1200 hr = 240 lm*hrs

I'll start off with my picks, but I'm by no means an expert, so please chime in:

2AA:
Klarus ST20
Quark AA^2

1AA:
Zebra SC51
Klarus ST10

GeoBruin

Flashlight Enthusiast
It sounds like you understand the concept pretty well. I would just add that the best one to one comparison for your purpose might be to decide on a fixed drive current, or a fixed luminous flux and see which light either has higher flux at that current, or draws fewer amps at that flux.

That said. For light in the usable range, I would put the SC/H51 at the top for one AA.

Edit I forgot to mention the thermal aspect. In your example of finding area under the curve, you assume a constant flux for a given duration, however LED's tend to become less efficient at higher temperatures. You're going to be making a lot more heat at 200 lumens than at .2 lumens which will reduce the area under the curve.

Last edited:

srfreddy

Enlightened
The Thrunites do very well at Turbo at high-their high mode is as high as the Fenix/4seven's offerings turbo's. At turbo, the 1A does higher than the Zebralight H51, for only a bit less runtime. The 2A runs almost as bright as the LD20 on high, and runs 45 more minutes.

selfbuilt

Flashaholic
2AA:
Klarus ST20
Quark AA^2

1AA:
Zebra SC51
Klarus ST10