Electronics noob with a big torch to mod

TakeCover

Newly Enlightened
Hi all - I managed to aquire an x21 for a steal recently. I had reservations about it due to the fact it is a direct drive light and not rechargeable. I am travelling RTW with the giant cannon and finding quality d alkalines will be near impossible in a lot of places - I do not want to lug it 40,000 miles to only use it a couple of times.

The torch is to be used for landscape lightpainting with my photography. I dont mind sacrificing runtime as long as I can have a similiar output of light and throw to using alkalines.

SO as the title states I am an electronics/torch mod noob and while I have tried to search these forums for x21 modding or similiar, my lack of knowing what words/acronyms to use is failing me.

I note Led Lenser advise against the rechargeable D cells, I assume because of voltage/mah issues? But would love some more explanation. I have read of people using them anyway but have complaints of running hot if on for extended periods, and people advising that it will shorten circuitry lifespan.

I was wondering if I could build a custom rechargeable pack that matches 4 alkaline d's as closely as possible in power. Am I right in thinking there is 2/3rd size "D" cells that are 1.2v rechargeable. How about using 5 of these in series and then using the 2/3rds space left over for a charging point or some type of circuitry/spacing.

I'm also led to believe that I will run into regulation problems...... Need help there. Ha.

Reading above makes me wish I knew much more about electronics!
I hope the tech-heads can understand my simpletonian and school me in some modding suggestions. Look forward to utilising the CF community and putting some pics and details of the x21 project soon.

Cheers
Tim

garilla

Newly Enlightened
miserable state of NJ, actually it is only the pol