EDC LEO Light Recommendations!

BraqueHunter98

Newly Enlightened
Hello all,

This is my first time making a post here at CPF. However, I have been looking at the sight on and off for the last couple years. I am just now getting back from a break and I get the feeling changes are coming as fast in the lighting world as they are with laptops and smartphones.

Here is my question... I am looking for a fantastic EDC pocket-style back-up light for LEO use. I have a buddy who uses a SF Backup, and although I was impressed with its function and simplicity, I dont feel like paying 300% more for the SF name. Don't get me wrong, money isn't the deciding factor at all for me. But, I believe there are other makers of lights who just dont get the attention of the masses in the LEO world.

Here are my needs/wants... 1.) Dependability... 2.) Quality, Durable construction... 3.) High light output, but with multi-level options... 4.) Good amount of throw, but with usable spill.

I am also interested in getting some input and opinion on the best power source for an EDC light. Are cr123's overall better than the different AA forms?

Okay, I hope that lays the ground work for you all... Blast away!! :xyxgun:

-BH98-

BraqueHunter98

Newly Enlightened
To give you all an idea...

I was originally looking to buy a Fenix Digital PD30 R5 Limited edition from BatteryJunction.... but for some reason the order didnt go through so I started researching other lights before I re-placed the order.

I am looking for something within the same range of this light. Either something using 1 or 2-CR123's or something using 1-AA form-type battery. I would consider investing in some rechargables and a good recharger if the benefits outweigh the added costs.

-BH98-

skyfire

Flashlight Enthusiast
Cr123 primaries have all the advantages over any form of AA. except for ease of availability.

HDS 170 clicky. or if you can find one, the newer HDS rotary or clicky, which put out about 200 lumens.