Sturdiest hand wound flashlight

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bill. Tokyo

Newly Enlightened
During the recent earthquake and tsunami here, there was a run on flashlight batteries, which got me very interested in the whole subject of wind up flashlights. My first impression of them is that all that I could find were made out of plastic, and were probably prone to breakage, particularly the winding handle. They don't make mechanical wrist watches out of plastic, which you wind up for a good reason. Too flimsy.

As I am a complete newbie to flashlights, what would some of the forum members recommend as a really sturdy, hard to break wind up type flashlight?

Thanks for any and all recommendations and URLs.

yellow

Flashlight Enthusiast
1st of all, I think 99 % if that is just junk.
When needed in 1/5/10 years, the interiors - You mentionned plastic parts - will fail.
A low output, long lasting light w. long storage chemistry battery will be better anyway.

for wind-ups: Freeplay!
and here primarily the models where one "cranks" a spring and this spring then runs the dynamo thing
(if there are still such models made by freeplay, system was quite expensive)
The combination to have a working radio - and possibly a low output light - makes a lot more sense, than a medium output, short running crap crank flashlight alone

Lightman2

Enlightened