Build a Mag85 or buy a manufactured light?

mckeand13

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm a complete flashlight newbie. I did my reasearch and bought a Fenix PD31. I really like it. Then I started looking to further the collection with a lot of power. I saw the Mag85 information along with a few beamshots. I thought this was the coolest thing so I wanted to build one.

As I adding up costs, I started to wonder why I should build one of these rather than buy an available off the shelf light from one of the big manufacturers.

MAG85

COST
Maglite 3D $18.00
Fivemega 9AA>3D adapter $39.00
Glass lens $7.50
WA1185 bipin bulb (2) $11.00
Fivemega reflector $22.00
Fivemega bipin adapter $18.00
Misc. Shipping $10.00
Total $125.50

OUTPUT
From reading a lot of posts, the output of a Mag85 is believed to be right around 800 real lumens. I haven't seen any definitive data on output though.

RUNTIME
Sounds like its right around 30 minutes and get's very hot during long run times. Doesn't sound too desirable.

Yes, there are some cheaper sources, but if I do this, I want top notch components and Fivemega seems like the way to go. All of his parts look very professional and well constructed.

COMPETITOR
The dilemma, as I see it, is that I can purchase a better light for the same amount of money. A purchased light would have more engineering effort put into perfecting it and making it work really well for its intended purpose. An example would be the (soon to be released) Fenix TK41.

http://www.fenixlight.com/viewnproduct.asp?id=89

COST
$129.95 plus shipping

OUTPUT
800 lumens on high

RUNTIME
130 minutes on high