A Surefire G3 LED question...

Glock 'em down

Newly Enlightened
I need a new light for my duty rig (police officer) and I'm considering a Surefire G3 with the new 120 lumen LED lamp.

I had one of the old 105 lumen Xenon G3s and loved it, but I was worried about lamp breakage.

I also had one of the 80 lumen G2s which used the exact same lamp as the G3, but it didn't throw worth a damn. :scowl:

I'm curious...does the "new" 120 lumen LEDs throw any better than the "old" 80 lumen LEDs?

Why can't Surefire make a decent LED? :shakehead My pocket carry light as we speak is a Streamlight PT2L. It throws like crazy!

Please don't recommend that I do this, tweak that, bore that - I'm just not flashlight savvy like you guys. I'm just a dumb cop. :sigh:

angelofwar

Flashlight Enthusiast
The new G3L has pretty decent throw for a reflectored light. It's noticeably brighter than the old 80 lumen G2L. It maintains a good brightness level for roughly 2 hours. I could bore you with all these better options you could do, but won't at your request. I will recommned getting a secong light that is strictly throw, like the two mentioned above, or even the E1B. These light throw alot farther than the other lights you have mentioned since the heads are different, and will make great, compact search lights, where as your G3 could fill the "general purpoe light" role.

Oh, and :welcome:

herosemblem

Enlightened
I have the PT2L, the G2L 80 lumen, the G2L 120 lumen, the G3L 120 lumen, some G2's, the LX2, the E1B Backup, and the PT1L. (I do have other lights, but I mention only these ones because of their relevancy).

The skinny black PT2L out-throws the G2L 120.