Grandmoms 2D MAGlite (An LED Drop-in Question)

What should I get (Please post your reason why)

• Get the MAG 3W upgrade even though it has a flawed design and will dim when warmed up

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Sorry brother, your not going to find what your looking for ;(

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

TechNickAll

Newly Enlightened
Hello everyone! I am new to CPF and I have read a TON of MAGlite LED posts on here but I am hopeing for a little extra help finding my answer.

So here is the deal, I have my grandmothers 2D MAGlite (approx. 10-12 years old) and would like to add a drop-in LED. I have a bunch of awesome flashlights in my collection that I very much prefer to MAGlites but this particular light is sentimental to me and I would like to utilize it but I need to up the output/run time. HOWEVER I have a few specifications to meet:

• Meet or exceed 120 Lumens
  • Run on 2D Alkaline batteries (No rechargeables what so ever, no 3C, Etc.)
  • No modification to the flashlights body, head, reflector, lens, etc.
  • 1 LED (I'm not looking for a quad Cree or anything like that)
  • Spend less than $40
I was looking at NiteIze, TERRAlux, MAG 3W upgrade, and a few others (AKA EBAY junk). I cannot find any real lumen rating on the NiteIze or TERRAlux and have not found a comparison of the two.

Ladies and Gents, Am I looking for something that doesn't exist? I sure hope someone can help me out here. I am open to other brands but I do not know of any drop-in type models available.

Thanks in advance for any info!

~Nick

Lynx_Arc

Flashaholic