Just got my first proper Flashlight

Bill2032

Newly Enlightened
First of all sorry if i posted this in the wrong section.

I used to own a Fenix PD20 Q5 and i just recently bought a

Jetbeam RRT-2 R5
http://www.ledtorches.com.au/index.php?act=viewProd&productId=188

And this charger and Battery Combo

http://www.ledtorches.com.au/index.php?act=viewProd&productId=171

And i was wondering what you guys thought of this, also i bought a Pila IBC Charger because i read about this certain Ultrafire charger overcharging etc. My question is should i buy some AW 18650 Protected Cells or will these ones be alright and also any tips you can give about charging 18650's would be appreciated. Also how does the Jetbeam compare to the Fenix ?

Thanks, Bill

DimeRazorback

Flashlight Enthusiast
I have no experience with Jetbeams batteries, however I do with AW. I can attest that AW cells are of high quality and I have had no dramas with mine in the two years I have had them.

As for charging, buy yourself a multimetre to keep track of the voltage level of the cells so that they do not drop to low, or come off the charger to high.

The Pila would be the better option of the two chargers.

Cheers!

Bill2032

Newly Enlightened
I do have a multimeter, albeit an analogue sanwa multimeter from the 90's that my grandfather gave to me. it should do the job though. but is checking the cells required when the batteries come off the Pila Charger. The jetbeams say IC protected. does that mean that they are protected from Over-charging, over discharging etc

and some of the stories i have read about exploding 18650's are horrible.is it still common for them do explode/catch fire in single cell torches or is it more common in the torches that require 2-3 18650's?

DimeRazorback

Flashlight Enthusiast
Best to be safe, rather than sorry. I always checked mine until I got a smart charger.

I keep an eye on mine throughout the week, to keep on top of how low they are so I know when to charge.