Surefire Z2S

sleep creeper

Newly Enlightened
Hi guys i am new to cpf...but i have been a streamlight fan for a while..i have several lights from them. That said...ive always wondered about the big hype with surefire so decided to order a z2s and i really light the built quality and looks but the light seems to have a warmer tint to it then for example my strion led which has a bluish tint...does surefire usually have a warmer tint...ad my strion led is rated at 160 like the z2s but seems brighter to me...???

pjandyho

Flashlight Enthusiast
Surefire usually uses cool white LEDs and have one of the nicest tints around. If I may say so, most of my Surefire has a creamy white tint to it, with the exception of the AZ2 and Stratum.

Like AZ2 and Stratum, the Z2S also uses a Luxeon K2 TFFC emitter which is more towards the yellowish side of tint. Almost like neutral white (warmer tint) but not quite there. The tint from the K2 TFFC seems to rest on the crossroads between cool white and neutral white. Some would like it but some don't. Personally I have mixed feelings about it.

angelofwar

Flashlight Enthusiast
My experience with Surefires is that the Luxeons usually have a warmer tint than the other emitters out there. For example, if you want a warmer tinted U2, buy the older Lux-V model. The L2 (discontinued, but still available on the MP), while not "warm", is warmer than the other LED's out there used by most mfg.'s.

sleep creeper

Newly Enlightened
Ok i see now its the warmest tint then that i have seen...it is creamy like...why do you guys have mix feelings about it??? just curious....

yowzer

Enlightened
I have an AZ2 and like it a lot. Both the K2 and the 5mms have a much nicer tint than usual for Surefire (I'm a neutral/warm white guy). That said, the only Surefire I have with a bad (Nasty blue) tint is the 5mms in my A2.