CRI & Temp: Can anyone simply explain the difference to me?

indychris

Newly Enlightened
I did a search on CPF, but couldn't find a true definitive explanation. Maybe I'm just looking at the wrong terms. I keep seeing CRI (I know that mean Color Rendering Index) and Temp/Kelvins thrown around. At times it seems they're almost used interchangeably, but at other times seems they are unique markers.

I understand Cool/Neutral/Warm, and it seems that CRI and K's are thrown into those same discussions. How do they relate to one another?

Can anyone give me a reasonably simple explanation of the difference, and how those markers impact what I look for in a light?

John_Galt

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm no expert, I'll merely post my understanding of the issue.

Color Temperature is basically a measure of the light output, how it appears to us. White output LED's are blue LED's with a phosphor coating over the die, that when excited by the light produced by the blue LED, emit a "white" light. A 'single' layer of phosphor coating will result in a standard cold white high color temperature light. Very blue.
Manufacturers then fine tune the phosphor coating (or add additional layers, honestly I'm not quite sure which) to add further layers to convert more of the blue emitted light into a "white" light. This conversion process is nowhere near 100% efficiency, so a lower color temperature LED is likely to be less efficient.
The Lower color temp. (basically the addition of more red, green, etc) appears more natural to us, as our eyes have adapted to the incandescent sun/atmosphere combination. So the addition of more Red light (and green, etc) will make it easier for the eye to determine color, shape, etc.

Color Rendering index is a scale that's graded on how well a given light renders color, when compared to sunlight. So the better the CRI rating, the easier it is for our eyes to distinguish colors, especially very close colors.