Which fishing knot do you use?

tomp

Newly Enlightened
palomar knot is best but be sure to lick/wet the line before you cinch it tight. This will prevent friction from causing heat damage to the line.

john-paul

Newly Enlightened
Usually Palomar or snell depending on my mood. Rapala knot for lures, and usually a blood knot for leaders. As already mentioned, always wet the line before you pull it tight.

DaveyJones

Newly Enlightened
fishermans knot for joining lines, classic noose for fixing hooks.

dealgrabber2002

Flashlight Enthusiast
Geez, didn't know there were so many knots.

Before learning the 2 knots I mentioned above, I usually tied the hook the way I tied a rope to a tree. I think that knot is call a dead knot???

PapaLumen

Enlightened
Grinner knot usually.

*edit* No I don't, turns out its a palomar knot that I have been calling a grinner knot for 20 years lol

Last edited:

smokinbasser

Flashlight Enthusiast
Generally I tie off with the Trilene knot, it retains 100% of line test strength. I tried a palomar knot when using 20# flourocarbon line and it performed flawlessly at Lake Fork. Just be sure the chosen knot does not weaken the line in the process.

MSaxatilus

Flashlight Enthusiast
Really depends upon what you are tying the knot to and what pound test the line is. Generally speaking for artifical lures with light light line (#10 to #40 mono) I will use an improve clinch. If you are using heavier line with hook, I would go with a palomer or snell.

A palomer knot will slip out with braid.

Different knots are better in different situations.

MSax

Mr Bigglow

Enlightened