Crazy SST-90 with one IMR 18650

BlahHead

Newly Enlightened
Hi torch-bearers,

I was wondering about building a supercharged mini light setup with the following specs:

A Luminus SST-90
An Aurora SSC-p7 black body
An orange peel reflector that came with the body
An AW IMR 18650
No driver... This would be a direct drive since AW IMR's are known to deliver more than 10A

The purpose of this light would be to shine it for bursts of time (30 sec max) just for the spite of it. :D

I already own the Aurora body and a Trustfire X6, and I've been more than impressed with the power of the SST-90!

Would this be a plausible build without burning anything up? I'm only a high school student with limited knowledge about drivers and currents and blah blah, so I'm not quite sure how to wire things up... I'll just trust the IMR not to explode or for the LED not to turn into ashes.... XD

What do you pros think?

Epsilon

Enlightened
Funny, though of the same thing, but there where a few things holding me back :). The pill is rubbish, it needs to be much more solid. I made a new one for my xm-l conversion. The second thing is a bigger problem: the switch. This can't handle the current to make the stt90 worthwhile. It can handle up to 2amp fine, but that's even out of spec! So I went for the xm-l instead with a 8x7135 driver.

cmacclel

Flashlight Enthusiast
With 1 IMR18650 you would get nowhere even close to 10 amps. I think I tried it out when I first got an SST-90 and it was pulling maybe 3 amps if not lower in a single cell.

Mac

350xfire

Flashlight Enthusiast
I got 4 amps with direct drive AMR and SST-90 on modified maglite host.

BlahHead

Newly Enlightened
Thanks for ya info Epsilon, but would the pill and the tail switch stiil be a problem if it's on for only 30 seconds or so?

With 1 IMR18650 you would get nowhere even close to 10 amps. I think I tried it out when I first got an SST-90 and it was pulling maybe 3 amps if not lower in a single cell.