E2DL Battery options

indadark

Newly Enlightened
Hey everyone, I'm new to CPF and still finding my way around flashlights and the tech behind them. I recently purchased a new SF E2D. I also purchased a Veleno Designs 2 cell dual-mode E module as well as an E2DL head. I'm planning on getting some cr123 primaries but I'm also interested in acquiring some rechargeable batteries to use with both these LED heads. I know that the 2 cell E module can take 2 cr123 (2 rcr123 is a no go) or 1 li-ion 17670:

1. Can the SF E2DL head also safely run on the single 17670?

2. Is the AW Protected 17670 (1600mAH) listed in this sale ok?

http://www.cpfmarketplace.com/mp/sh...-Thread-*USA*-amp-international.-***Part-2***

TIA indadark.

KuKu427

Enlightened
Yes, the E2DL can run on a single 17670 but it will not be as bright.

You should also note that you need to sand down the interior of the battery tube on most E series lights to fit a 17670.

Last edited:

indadark

Newly Enlightened
Thanks kuku427. Will finding a 17670 with it's mWh closer to that of 2 cr123 be the ticket getting it brighter? i.e.

2 cr123:
2 x 3V x 1500mAH = 9,000mWh

1 17670:
1 x 3.7V x 2400mAH = 8,880mWh

Or is brightness relational to Voltage?

Last edited:

KuKu427

Enlightened
It's related to voltage of the battery.
Vf of the LED and overhead voltage needed by the driver are the deciding factors here.

I would say E2DL is about 1/2 ~ 2/3 as bright on a 17670.
But its guilt free and you can always keep CR123s around for when you need full brightness.

tre

Flashlight Enthusiast
It's related to voltage of the battery.
Vf of the LED and overhead voltage needed by the driver are the deciding factors here.

I would say E2DL is about 1/2 ~ 2/3 as bright on a 17670.
But its guilt free and you can always keep CR123s around for when you need full brightness.

exactly.

One 17670 = 4.2 volts
Two cr123a = 6.0 volts