A question of capacity

Mattaus

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hi all,

First up I'm a battery noob. So please be patient with me.

I sort of covered what I'm about to ask elsewhere but my question is a little more specific/basic this time.

What would give me greater run time: 4s 4500mAh C-Cell NiMh batteries or 4s4p 2000mAh AA's?

I'm pretty sure it'd be the AA's (4x2000mAh = 8000mAh total capacity as opposed to the straight 4500mAh for the 3s C-cells).

Is my maths right or am I making some ill-judged assumptions here?

Just to clarify I require 4.8V for my driver so either solution will output the right voltage. I'm considering making a battery pack from Eneloops or possibly higher capacity AA cells by just taping/heat-shrinking the AA's to each other in the required pattern. Although a holder of some sort might be better because recharging this super-pack might be a tad difficult. I'm assumning at least anyway.

Good or bad idea?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

- Matt

mvyrmnd

Flashlight Enthusiast
Your maths is correct, but I hope you aren't trying to fit 4s4p AA's in a C sized space!

Mattaus

Flashlight Enthusiast
lol no I'm using these in a D Mag. The only reason I mentioned C-cells is because I was planing on using a battery tube for 4 C-cells in a 3D Mag. I've even made the tube but after finally deciding to grab some good rechargeable batteries I've realised that using AA's is much more convenient from a price/availability perspective.

My only decision now is to plump for 16 eneloops or these Vapex one's I found on theBay. I did a little research and they are viewed under good light most of the time. The extra capacity is what is enticing me and although they won't last as long as the Eneloops for holding that capacity on the shelf, I'm not the kind of guy who really cares...maybe I should go for the 2900mAh Vapex ones the same store is selling (same price). Plus it's an Aussie seller so I won't have to wait 4 weeks to get them.

mvyrmnd