General observations and reccomendations from a newbie

menoceros

Newly Enlightened
I lurked on the forum for several days trying to pick up as much info as I could before commiting myself to a purchase. Now I would like to give my first impressions of what I've discovered.

The forum is a wealth of knowledge. Do not neglect to search it for info you could use.

As a pilot, I was looking for a replacement for the "Element" LED light (purchased at Sam's) I have used for about 6 years. This light and it's replacement have been well discussed on the forum over the years. This light gets used every day for pre-flight inspections, in the early hours (5:00 AM) of the morning. Good light is a must to see various fluid levels and inside access panels.

I wound up purchasing a variety of lights from several manufacturers none of which cost more than $55. All purchases were made online, many from dealers mentioned in this forum.

So what can I say to the new buyer?
1) Don't let lumens determine your choice. The difference between different settings are sometimes very slight despite the numbers. Many times reflector shape and design will affect the actual perceived output.
2) No one manufacturer has a lock on this market. They all have something to offer.
3) If you need a single power light, that's what you should buy. Trying to change settings can be a real pain when you're in the middle of a job.
4) price is not always a sign of quality. If you're not in law enforcement or rescue work, maybe you don't need the $200 light.