LED technology, how far can/will it go?

brembo

Enlightened
I am very new to this game, the game being "light tools". I am astounded by the current crop of emitters/light engines that are available for pocket change. Now one can snag a CUSTOM host with a spec'd emitter for ~150 bucks that absolutely stomps a mid 1990s top-of-the-line light that would have cost ~200$ 1990 dollars. WOW. It's a quiet revolution that I think is sliding by the general public. Yeah, we see HIDs in some cars, and a few automakers are tinkering with LED main lights, but overall LED tech is kinda "meh....yeah they are okay". I'm pretty stoked at the idea that my wee little S-Mini can punch out 300+ lumens for over two hours and still nestle in my pocket comfortably, and it's not as efficient as many other models/brands. This is some seriously cool technology.

Computers have followed Moore's law closely, doubling computer power every two years or so. Can we expect to see the output of LEDs to follow a similar path, or is making photons bounce around more of a zero sum game? In twenty years will someone be changing my diaper with a 10k lumen light that runs off static electricity generated by simply walking around, or is there a threshold for light vs. energy?

yliu

Enlightened
Interesting question. I am no expert in this field, but I still have to comment on this!

I guess the limit of lighting technology would be when an emitter can transfer the energy into light with no loss or heat etc.

EZO

Flashlight Enthusiast