Single AA flashlight, not too spotty and quick to operate

ZapBeeb

Newly Enlightened
Hello everyone,

I am new to the high performance flashlight arena, and i'd like to have some advice
before pulling the trigger on my first buy.

I need a flashlight that:

Has a decently wide beam,
Runs on rechargeable batteries (hence the AA choice)
Is compact (hence the 1x AA choice)
Jumps directly to a preset beam configuration without much cycling
Decent run time

It's use will be indoor (i'll carry it with me everyday) and outdoor, both in strolling
and in "tactical" - i play in an airsoft team - situations.

After waay too much time spent on various sites i am focusing on the Klarus ST10.

I also liked 4sevens AA and Mini AA but the first seems all but quick to operate,
while the latter, much like Nitecore EZ AA R5 has a twist switch that looks too
impractical to operate one handed in "tactical" or overloaded situations.

Any thoughts on your part will be severely appreciated :D

Last edited:

skyfire

Flashlight Enthusiast
welcome to CPF...

some other single AA lights you might want to check out....

sunwayman V10A
Fenix LD15
Fenix LD10
Xeno E03
Zebralight H51, H51w, SC51, SC51w
Nitecore D10, D11
Jetbeam E3S, BA10,

my favorite single AA lights would be.... zebralights, quark tacticals, sunwayman V10A.... in no particular order.

lightsandknives

Enlightened
The Zebralight sc51 woud get my vote. It's just so versatile with a really low low, and 200 lumens of floody beauty on high. 2 options for low, 2 on medium, and 2 on high. Give it a good look.

And....welcome to CPF!

Flying Turtle

Flashaholic
Welcome ZapBeeb! I've got to go along with the Zebralight SC51 recommendations. It might seem a bit pricey for a first light, but relative to competition it's worth the difference. The highest and lowest levels are instantly available and it's built like a tank. Save some time and go straight to the top (well, close to the top anyway).

Geoff

JA(me)S

Enlightened