Which Kerberos is better, Quad XP-G 5.6A or Quad XP-G 4.2A?

scottyhazzard

Enlightened
Working up my first build and trying to find the best balance between throw, flood and not burning my hands in a smallish host (Solarforce L2 or L2m) I am a noob and welcome any advice such as which forward clicky switch can best support ~5.6A. The budget is tight and a Kerberos alone pushes the limit, but hey its a Kerberos!

Darvis

Enlightened
Hey man,

I own both... get the 4.2a as your first, it's not that much less bright than the 5.6 and is much easier on your equipment, less heat, better runtime, etc. With the 4.2, you can use a McClicky modded Z41...

At 5.6a, things change and you are looking at a zero res mod in the tailcap.

Don't underestimate the whole package needed for this quad, you'll need a solid host that's bored for 18mm cells- the solarforces will do, but the swicthes may not take it... so, an upgraded switch like a McClicky, and I highly recommend using IMR 18650s in this. You may want to work your way up to a bored out 6P over time, or an Oveready TL65 with a P60 adapter... verrry solid for good heat transfer. Also, be sure to snug fit the drop in with aluminum foil.

Other than that, you will, and I mean really will, be impressed.

Last edited:

Rod911

Enlightened
I have the 4.2A version and the setup I use is the following:

- L2P body
- A001 head
- S6 tail cap
- LiCo cell

I have found the A001 head helps immensely with cooling. I recently got an L2T and I've put in a Linger Special in there. When I power the two of them at the same time, the L2T gets warmer much quicker than the A001. Before anyone thinks that there isn't a tight fit in the A001, there is a strip of aluminium foil there for a snug fit (same goes for the L2T). Also, using the A001 head, I have been able to keep the light on for 15 minute, unaided by any other form of cooling, before I need to grab it and use my hand to draw the excess heat.