Three Questions: Relating to Pond Lights, Transformers and Enclosed Fixtures

Zup

Newly Enlightened
I am new to LEDs. Other than flashlights, I have replaced several light bulbs with LEDs, as well replaced all my under-cabinet pucks with Cree LED ones.

Now I have a few questions to which I have not been able to find answers:

1. I am redoing my koi pond, which underwater light fixtures built into the walls, each using a 50W halogen floodlight (130v).

I am wondering if I can replace the halogen bulbs with LED ones? Is the fact that the fixtures are underwater going to provide enough cooling to alleviate the enclosed fixture problem?

2. The second question is similarly relating to enclosed fixtures. I have a few globes, a couple of 18" plastic ones, as well as smaller glass ones, varying in diameter between 10" to 15". They are enclosed, but there is some air in the globes, particularly the larger ones.

Do you think these globes would provide sufficient cooling for LED bulbs? Or, are there any LED solutions which can deal better with the heat?

3. Finally, as I mentioned above, I have replaced 5 halogen pucks with Cree LED ones (like these Link removed.

They worked great for a few days, but last night I turned them on and there was suddenly a lot of buzzing, as well as flickering. This morning most of it was gone, but if I get close to the fixture, I can still hear the buzzing.

I am using a 150W transformer, which outputs 11.7V and was powering the halogen pucks for about 10 years. Any ideas as to why the LEDs would suddenly go crazy?

Thanks!

Last edited by a moderator:

Zup

Newly Enlightened
Thanks for approving and editing the post, Bullzeyebill. I am definitely not shilling: I posted the link just in case these particular LED pucks are known by others to buzz. (Not much of a shill to say that a product starts buzzing and flickering less than a week after installation.... :)